Home

As we are quickly progressing with this assignment this blog post will be a progress report to show where I am currently up to and also discuss my mid-term powerpoint presentation which I recently presented to the class, my idea which I have decided to go with is using the Typography/Magazine style which was set-out by the brief, the reason I have decided to choose this category is because of my love of creating a exciting designs and improving upon the old, and I believe this Category will allow me to do this.

My presentation which can be viewed again (Will require Keynote on a mac) which explains all my research so far: http://www.mediafire.com/?tmz47v5nrr4sb5d

I have selected what I believe to be the most successful response to the brief, a magazine is visually inspiring, ever-changing and easy to read, why can’t a social network be like this? My solution so far is to create a responsive, visually exciting approach to a social network design. A magazine is easy to read/understand, it’s visually inspiring, the design is ever-changing and the images and text work together. Why can’t a social network be like this, for example Facebook while viewing the site on a desktop, there is a large amount of waste white space, the design is fixed, why can’t it change? It’s visually boring and most importantly the design isn’t responsive, I believe I can create a design that can fix these problems using a magazine style for inspiration.

Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 09.35.19

By researching magazines, looking for inspirational websites, and being influenced by designers/agencies, I have found the techniques and styles I believe create my goal of an ever-changing atheistically pleasing design, I’ve looked at many websites mainly from Joseph Mark is behind the New Myspace, something on his website that stood out for me was a quote:

“We design to amplify intent, using technology to create deeper interconnectivity between people, products, place and planet.”               Joseph Mark

I have also been reading the responsive web design book we was suggested to read in lecture which has greatly improved my understanding, I have done what seems like hours of research to find these JQuery and HTML5/CSS3 plugins which I could possibly use on my final design:

http://maker.github.com/ratchet/
http://popcornjs.org/
http://davidwalsh.name/html5-email
http://davidwalsh.name/demo/page-visibility.php
http://davidwalsh.name/demo/fullscreen.php
http://www.smartjava.org/content/exploring-html5-web-audio-api-filters
http://34grid.com/
http://www.turnjs.com/
http://darsa.in/sly/#!horizontal

Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 09.42.33

Using some of the jQuery and CSS3 research and the influence from Joseph Mark I have started to come up with initial experimentation which I have turned into digital experimentation to help me see what does/does not work, below is my sketches/wireframes that I have produced so far:

Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 09.54.16

Above is the mock-up design for how the design is currently intended to look on smartphone/iPhone the button on the left will be a slide menu with three social networking button’s in the middle and your profile image/drop-down on the right, the search bar will be on the slide out menu.Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 09.54.01

Above is the mock-up design for how the design is currently intended to look on the iPad/Tablet similar to the desktop/mobile version, but now has the logo and a search bar.Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 09.53.38

Above is the mock-up design for how the design is currently intended to look on the desktop/full browser which includes all of content from the mobile/tablet website but is an enhanced experience.Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 09.53.19

Screen Shot 2013-01-09 at 10.18.01Above is a possible design for a slider menu which would be displayed under the top bar showing the latest content, as this is inspiration from a magazine, this would show a wide range of content, keeping inline with my research and inline with the brief, I am going to do a responsive site using HTML5, CSS3 and media queries, it will be a full screen website, making use of all of your screen space, no matter what the screen size, I plan to use these dark shades of grey for a simple looking website, with the vibrant and eye catching purple to bring the site alive.

To finalise, this is where I intend to lead/take my project from this point on:

  • Continue to research, look for influences and get inspiration from people, agencies and the work they have produced.
  • From the above, create more detailed sketches, drawings and produce ideas which I then turn into real digital experimentation.
  • Experiment with color and typography to find the right combination for the design.
Leave a Reply

